Qabalistic Tree of Life and I Ching

persephone8

Chrono Cadet
Question from Persephone:

Is the Qabalistic Tree of Life anything like the 3000 year old I Ching that Confuscious taught? It is based upon hexograms in a sort of astrology.

I know, I will read more about the Qabalistic Tree of Life.

I need a primer because I am not familiar with it.

The Appropriateness of Chance is Astounding
Persephone

"There are great ideas undiscovered, breakthroughs available to those who can remove one of truth's protective layers" by Neil Armstrong

Hi Persephone:

No need to address me as "Prof." Actually, I only teach part time in my spare time, and I do not accrue tenure for doing so. So I am just a plain old engineer who happens to do lots of research. /ttiforum/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Is the Qabalistic Tree of Life anything like the 3000 year old I Ching that Confuscious taught?
They are related to one another. Like many systems of "divination" (which are nothing more than a capability to relate one thing to something else), the I Ching can be shown to "overlay" the Tree Of Life. More below...

I need a primer because I am not familiar with it.
Primer on the way. Follow these instructions to see a picture for how the I Ching trigrams overlay the Tree Of Life. While you are at the website, you may want to look around for other "primers" on the TOL.

1) Go to the Tree-O-Life.org Science Page .
2) Click on Sphere #8 on the TOL on the left side of the page.
3) From the numbered table of contents for this page, click on the hyperlink with the words "6) Eight Trigrams of I-Ching"
4) You will now see a diagram of how the 8 I Ching trigrams align with the four levels of the TOL. Four trigrams represent the downward flow of creative energy. The other four represent the upward flow of receptive energy.